Write! Write, you fool!

Frog.gif

This year I want to write more. Which sounds ridiculously stupid to me, because I work on my writing about three hours every day. It might not sound like much, but when you have a full-time job and family commitments, that three hours is hard won and I really have to fight to make time to do it.

Most of my writing time lately has been spent editing. I have 4 completed novels that are going through various edits and it takes a long time. Due to my new year’s resolution of practicing patience,  it’s taking even longer, as I’m remaining focussed and not jumping from one project to the next. It’s a little frustrating because I want to write. WRITE! I want to write new stuff, new worlds and new characters. This fixing up bit is boring, but necessary.

So, I’m going to make a change in 2017 and write more content. I’m going to try my hand at the dreaded flash fiction and maybe some short stories. I’m going to write anything and everything, and post it on my blog. Even as I type that, little fingers of despair wrap around my heart because that annoying little voice in my head that says, ‘you don’t have time,’ ‘great, more time spent ignoring your kid and husband,’ and my personal favourite, ‘you’re a shit writer and there isn’t any way you could come up with/write a new piece of work every week.’ Well little voice, stuff you. This is the year of killing you in cold blood, you will no longer dictate to me how I live my life. If I don’t have time one week, I’ll do two the  week after. There’s always a way, and I’m going to do what makes me happy, I’m going to write.

write all.jpg

Bear with me. I’ve been reading a heap of flash fiction and short stories, especially those on Amanda’s page Mandibelle16 and if you haven’t checked out Nick at Fifty Words Daily, you should. These are two people who consistently put out good work every day. It’s a little overwhelming, but I’ll try for every week and see how we go. Which also means that we all get a break from the mind numbing look inside my brain with these blog posts that go nowhere.

Wish me luck.

Come on over and friend me on Facebook at Lisa Lancaster.
Come and do some pinning on Pinterest

Gif via Giphy
Meme via Mememaker

30 thoughts on “Write! Write, you fool!

  1. I feel you! Oftentimes I feel guilty typing on the computer blogging and writing when I should be spending the time with my dauhter since Inhave a full-time job. But you know what, we need time for ourselves too to do stuffs that invigorates and makes us happy. Besides, we’re doing them a favor when we do so because when we feel better, we treat others better! 😊 All the best in your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

