Finding the Forgotten.

rememberall

I’m in a little bit of a pickle. You see, I had a fabulous idea. I remember getting it and thinking, “Wow, this is the best idea I’ve ever had.” Seriously, it was that good. I should have written it down, I should have made rough notes, I should have called a friend to tell them about it before I lost it.

Yep. I lost it.

Gone. Toodles. Bye bye.

Now I’m kicking myself, while I mentally run through the things I was doing to see if I can trigger the memory. My husband said that if it was as epic as I am making out, then how did I forget it? It’s like the old saying that if you forget what you were going to say, then it must have been a lie.

It’s there on the tip of my tongue, lingering on the edges of my memory but I can’t wrangle it and bring it into focus. It is beyond frustrating and I want to open my skull and scoop it out. I’m even considering hypnotherapy, okay, maybe just a guided mediation for forgotten things.

Sometimes I think I get bits and pieces of it, but it never quite adds up, but I do jot those downs.

I’m the type of person that scribbles on my notepad through the night. I will get out of bed and thrash out dialogue if it comes to me. How I could forget to write down this brilliant idea? I will never know. I’m very cautious about these things because I know how fragile these whimsical ideas are.

write-it-down

The reason I didn’t write it down is because I was in the middle of a pretty heavy edit, and I knew that if I stopped I probably wouldn’t get going again. I pushed on, my blood thumping in my ears, willing to get to the end so I could hash out this new little wisp of a story. I hit save on my edit, opened a page in my note book aaaaaaand, nothing.dory

If anyone has any ideas on how to wrangle the forgotten, then I’d be most grateful.

Come on over and friend me on Facebook at Lisa Lancaster.
Come and do some pinning on Pinterest

Gif via Tumbler
Meme via Pinterest
Meme via Quotesgram

16 thoughts on “Finding the Forgotten.

  1. Lisa. I feel your pain. And I’ll share a story. Not in parallel, but one I hope brings you a smile as you try to find that which is lost.

    I used to go to a dog park. Every morning. It was a routine I was addicted to and so enjoyed the company of the other dog owners who became friends.

    One day, sitting on the bench, a friend and I were trying to recall an actor’s name. I reached for my iPhone. My bud scolded me. “If you look it up, your mind will turn to mush!”

    Of course he was right. So I pocketed my phone and the conversation moved on.

    A couple days later, at some inconsequential moment, I remembered the actor!

    I reached for my phone to text my friend the news.

    I couldn’t remember with whom I had the conversation that morning.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Ha! I loved this, thank you! Your friend, remembered or not, is absolutely right. I can’t remember (excuse the pun) the last time I thought about something instead of googling it. I’m youngish, but I still vaguely remember going next door to borrow their encyclopedia Britannica.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ok, I’ve never tried this for an idea, or anything cerebral, lol. But it’s worked on everything tangible I’ve ever tried it on. St. Anthony Prayer, over and over and over. I once had the diamond fall out of my engagement ring while mowing the lawn, and crawling around in the grass and chanting this prayer for about an hour landed the diamond right on top of the mower….This is a true story. So maybe this idea is your diamond, it can’t hurt to try, lol.

    St. Anthony, St. Anthony, please come around. Something has been lost and must be found.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dang. That sounds frustrating. (Hmm. That doesn’t help your dilemma at all, does it?) It’s like hearing a two second snippet of a song in your head and trying to remember more of it. The harder you try, the harder it is to remember. It just keeps popping away – like trying to touch a wet marble with your fingertip.

    Was there one particular part in your story that caused that idea to appear? A certain word or phrase?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa, that has happened to me and it is the most miserable feeling to have a great idea and then it is gone. even though I said it over in my mind a dozen times – I was no where near a pen or pencil and paper. My Christmas wish for you, is that your idea comes back with even more tantalizing details! 🙂 Well, I do have an idea that may help you remember, it works for me most of the time. Think of Alice and Wonderland. She knew she had to go back to the beginning and retrace her steps. So, sit down at your keyboard, edit something (go back to where your idea came to be and to the place in the editing process when you were taken aback by the instant clarity of your idea. And see what happens. And, relax, you will remember it! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • It is the worst, Karen! It’s like it’s taunting me, just hovering out of reach. I was the same, I turned it around and around to a point where I thought I knew it inside and out. Thank you, I hope it does come back and brings some friends with it! I deleted the bit I was editing, but I’ll go back to the section, under the same conditions. If it works for you, I’ll give it a shot. I’ll let you know if it’s successful. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

